News

My basil finally developed roots! I'm currently reading about quantum mechanics, ferrofluids, and language models.

Blog

[08/09/2024:] Motivating Ladder Operators II
[08/08/2024:] A Cool Way to Garden
[08/08/2024:] Life and Basil Limeade
[08/05/2024:] Motivating Ladder Operators
[08/04/2024:] Migrated to AstroJS
[07/31/2024:] The Classical in the Quantum

Notes

Working on notes on the quantum mechanics, derivatives, and uploading my previous course notes onto this blog!

Projects

Finally started a projects page! I've recently made some nice upgrades to my post component, so it looks pretty clean! ;)

🌊

I'm considering whether or not to continue this project using WebGL or Three.js.

I'm also researching methods for generating the 3D scenes I want for this project automatically.

In the meantime, I've decided to proceed with some preliminary prototypes of the other interactive parts of this project.

Orange Juice

I like orange juice. :)

Mlog


Migrated to AstroJS!

August 4, 2024
By Aathreya Kadambi

I just migrated my blog to AstroJS! This has a lot of benefits for me. The main reason I switched was just to experiment with the tech and see how it felt. So far, it feels good. And boy do they know how to make a VS Code theme!

One thing I miss is Next.js’s single page layout, which made switching between my different pages really slick and nice. We’ll have to see if I can get that kind of look and feel from AstroJS. For now, things do seem to be loading nicely, but one thing I’ve noticed is a sort of glitchy feeling as the Montserrat font loads in. I’ll have to see if I can fix that. That being said, I’ve noticed that images on my blog and project pages are loading noticably faster than on Next (although I’ve only tested Astro locally). There’s also this article that kind of convinced me to give it a try: check this out.

In two days, I’ll be taking a quantum mechanics exam! I feel semi-prepared, and solved around half of the problems in the textbook. It’s a bit scary though still, and I sort of wasted my time today. We’ll see how it goes I guess.

In terms of research, I kind of haven’t gotten a chance to look at anything recently, I’ve been completely preoccupied with quantum mechanics! Thinking about quantum mechanics has been nice though. For one, I think I finally understand Fourier analysis, and I read a little bit about wavelets and wavelet transforms.

Anyway, it’s probably past my bedtime, so I should go to sleep. Look forward to quantum mechanics, research, and reading in the upcoming week.



As a fun fact, it might seem like this website is flat because you're viewing it on a flat screen, but the curvature of this website actually isn't zero. ;-)

Copyright © 2024, Aathreya Kadambi

Made with Astrojs, React, and Tailwind.